Skip to content

Hell no! Hell yes!

February 2, 2012

The past couple of weeks have been absurd emotional roller coasters. Argh.. that’s the wrong metaphor, because I like roller coasters. Hmm. So let’s imagine an old wooden roller coaster that doesn’t go upside down or do anything particularly cool.  One that’s frightening only because it’s in poor repair and the carnie running it is clearly smoking meth while he collects your ride ticket. That kind of roller coaster. Not like a bitchin’ Six Flags ride or anything.  No novelty photos will be taken for your later purchase.

The down side would include some BS at work and a misunderstanding at the studio that left me in tears in the hall outside the Mysore room on Monday. The up  side would be the extremely timely resolution of said misunderstanding and the ludicrously amazing practices of this week. And my manager hinting at buying out my contract from my consulting firm, which would both increase my job security and decrease the number of people I report to by about 80%. Let’s all pause to cross our respective fingers, toes, eyes, and legs for good luck.

Moving on…

I’ve been deviating from my Ashtanga practice quite a bit, a necessary evil (?) given that I had an Intro class and two Vinyasas to teach this week. Gotta practice what I preach and all. Or more accurately, I need to practice what I intend to teach. It’s paid off, too – in some really satisfying, gratifying morning practices and some hella fun classes.

I can’t express enough my gratitude at having a safe space for communal self-practice before work. I know that’s the whole point of a Mysore room, but given that daily Primary practice is not quite the thing right now either for my body or my teaching, having space for my mat in a Mysore room, even if I’m by necessity doing my own thing, is a godsend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 5:10 pm

    Hahaha not laughing at the post, but at the video that follows the post – good work.

Leave a Reply

