Skip to content

Boyfriend Does Laundry.

March 18, 2012

Perhaps the most groundbreaking event of all to come from my week in Miami was that upon my return, I found that Boyfriend had done laundry. All of the laundry. Even mine. It was even folded. Granted, it was on the dining room table, but to have made it that far was such an incredible journey that this was close enough to the closet to count as far as I was concerned. He’s good about garbage and yard work, and will partake in kitchen cleansing activities, but laundry just isn’t his thing. Mine scares him, and his is – in his mind – good for several wears per item anyway.

Only after I tried to put some of this freshfresh clothing on did I notice how very fragrant it was, and how odd was its texture.

Me: Wow! This is so fresh! Did you use a full capful of fabric softener?

BF: No, I didn’t use any.

Me: I think maybe you did. The detergent is unscented.

BF: No, I just used a capful of detergent.

Me: The detergent doesn’t have a cap. It’s in a pump bottle.

BF: I used the detergent in the yellow bottle. The Suavizante brand.

Me: I believe “suavizante” is Spanish for “fabric softener.”

BF: Whatever. It’s fine. I’ve been wearing them. They came out clean.

I recall this for you now because three weeks later, I’ve just pulled some sheets out of the linen closet that are beyond soft, and superfreakin April fresh. They’ll probably still be April fresh well into April. So I will now reluctantly add “Downy” to  my shopping list, in the hopes that a more iconic bottle will prevent further confusion. I’ll let you know how that pans out in another three years when he does laundry again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 12:02 pm

    Oh I love it when the boys do laundry. This seems a minor error when all is said and done, the laundry did get immersed into water after all, and so in some sense, it has been ‘cleansed’.

    CY isn’t allowed to do laundry even though he is capable. The shrinking on my favorite black skirt got him permanently banned. This was 20 years ago. You would think I would be over it. I’m not.

  2. March 19, 2012 12:03 pm

    ‘on’ I’m sure your brain will autocorrect to ‘of’

    • March 19, 2012 9:35 pm

      I don’t blame you! I am 5’11”, and hence extremely sensitive to matters of shrinking clothing.

Leave a Reply

