Skip to content

Compliments of the Gentleman in Green

April 14, 2012

I must preface this story by admitting it’s taken me four weeks to bother writing it, which would put us right about at… St Patrick’s Day weekend, an event not to be taken at all lightly in my town of part time Catholics and full time drunks.

I was walking home from Mysore practice at around 9am Sunday morning. As I strolled down the quiet residential street that would lead me to my own quiet residential street, I passed by a house, unremarkable except for the young men drinking beer on the porch so early in the morning.

From my vantage point across the street, I could not tell if they had risen early to begin an ambitious day of festivities, or if they were still enjoying an ambitious night of activities. Normally the question “are you still up or just getting up?” can be asked only between 4:30 and 6:30 am, and even then, it is typically rhetorical, as the answer is immediately clear. There are runners, yogis, coffee shop employees, and dog owners. Then there are partiers. No one else would be out at such an hour. But 9am on St Paddy’s is a bit more ambiguous.

Regardless of their position on the matter of Morning v. Night, the boys were clearly and exquisitely drunk.

One of them harkened to me in what I assume was meant to be an Irish accent, though it was frankly more reminiscent of Liverpool to me. Not that a 25 year old outfitted with kelly green pajamas, a geographically inaccurate accent and an early morning Genny Cream Ale needs anything more to distinguish himself, but this young gentleman set out to impress me. Perhaps he selected me because my post-savasana frizz and sweatpants-n-rainboots allure were too much to resist, or maybe because I was the only potentially female creature out at the moment; he called out to me what might be the sweetest question I’ve ever been asked by a man (and I’ve been proposed to thrice, once by a man I knew):

“Hey you. Lady. Turn this way – I can’t tell if you’re hot.”

“I’m not,” was my only reply. I like to let ’em down easy.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 8:37 pm

    You should have said, “I aaaam!!!! I’m sweating, my hair frizzing from the heat of my head chakra! Tssssssssss! HOTTTTTTT” (By the way, I hate when dudes act that way, green, drunk, or sober).

    • April 16, 2012 9:06 pm

      “I’m a pitta with a pitta imbalance. I’m pretty much the definition of ‘hot’.”

Leave a Reply

