Skip to content

Smoothies I’ve Loved

April 29, 2012

Since Bruce showed up in my life, breakfast has become a daily adventure.  To commemorate my first full month of Vitamix ownership, I’d like to reminisce on some of the smoothies I’ve loved over these past four magical weeks.

  • 1 medium beet, 2 organic apples, 1tsp(ish) fresh lemon juice, a knuckle’s worth of fresh ginger, a dash of ground nutmeg, and a big chug of water (yeah, that’s definitely a legitimate cooking term).
  • 1/2 a medium pineapple, 2 large organic kale leaves, a splash of coconut water, and a big chug of non-coconut water, or “water,” as you may know it.
  • 1 organic banana, 1 tablespoon organic natural peanut butter (by “tablespoon” here I refer not to the standardized unit of measure commonly used in cooking, but to all the peanut butter you can scoop out in one spoonful), a cup or so of flax milk (or your favorite milk), a teaspoon (the real “teaspoon”) ground cocoa. Sneak some greens in there. You’ll never notice them.
  • 1 c frozen peaches, 1 banana, 1 c cauliflower florets, 1 c flax milk, a splash of apricot nectar (or another juice).
  • 2 peeled grapefruits, 1 peeled lime, a small handful of parsley, 2 cups baby mixed greens, a splash OJ, and a handsome glug of water.

To most of these things, I also add a tablespoon of vegan protein powder and a teaspoon of flax or chia seeds. Keeping me full in the morning is difficult work, and not something fruit and veggies alone are cut out for. I generally prep everything the night before, since mornings are a difficult ordeal for me, time-wise, then I have a giant mason jar of deliciousness waiting for me when I’m done practicing*.

 

* On a related note, don’t spill any of these in your car. At first, you’ll think it smells fruity and delightful, and may be lulled into a false sense of security that leads to imprecise clean-up. Then two days later, your car will just smell like old cooked kale, and you’ll kinda wish you’d given the floor mats more love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 9:24 am

    Beets. Wow. Never thought about them but YES! Will throw one into my unnamed Vitamix soon. And cauliflower. Another stranger to my brew, but not for long! Thanks for the recipes.

  2. April 30, 2012 9:25 am

    Oh, and I forgot to tell you to have a great day… so let me make that a bit more emphatic: I command you to have a great day!

    • April 30, 2012 7:38 pm

      Done and done! The beet’s fantastic, and the cauliflower just blends right in. Literally.

Leave a Reply

