Skip to content

Me + Sunday = Love

April 14, 2013

RETURN TO THE SCENE OF THE CRIME

This morning marked my return to the Mysore room after ye old injury. At the studio where I practice, Mysore mostly means just that, but being a predominantly Vinyasa studio, any self-practice is allowed. I was able to cobble together over an hour of practice without discomfort by keeping my forward folds shallow and keeping the lungey/warriory stuff to a minimum. It was so darn good I think I’ll go again tomorrow.

IT’S THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE WEEK

Of all the 30 or so meals I eat each week, Sunday brunch is by far my favorite. This week I cooked for a group of friends, and despite the fact that I am no hostess, I think I pulled it off. Frittata, french toast, strawberries, lox, and brie… and mimosas, of course. Without mimosas, it’s just a big, late lunch. We had the perfect amount of food, the playlist was just long enough, the cats poured on the charm and stayed off the furniture. Good, good, good.

ACCOUNTABILITY IS NOT JUST A RIVER IN EGYPT

Lately it has come to my attention that I’ve been putting on weight. Stress eating and sharing an office with a skinny woman with a sweet tooth, I suppose. So over the past few weeks I’ve been logging my food and exercise with the My Fitness Pal app. [Let’s pause here for a moment to contemplate that we live in an era in which we can wave our phones at our food and they’ll tell us how fat we can expect to become.] Being aware of what I’m eating has been helpful, and my weight has been moving in a more pleasing trajectory.

I was reluctant to tell Phone about brunch, because that Siri can be so judgmental, but accountability is important to self-respect and all that. Besides, denial doesn’t make the waistbands stop hurting. So I fessed up about it, and Phone hinted strongly that I should go for a walk.

GOOD DAY, SUNSHINE

Phone was right about the walk, even though I still owe myself a few hundred calories. Birds in the trees, buds on the flowers, kids on their bikes – all signs point toward Spring, and not a moment too soon.

Which brings me back to Happiness. Spending time with my friends in a relaxed setting makes me happy. Quiet time to myself makes me happy. a clean home and good food make me happy. Being prepared for the week ahead makes me happy. A nice sunny walk makes me happy.

At this point, I’m just some light reading and a little Breaking Bad away from a perfect Sunday.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

