Skip to content

A tiny little poem on Kindness

December 18, 2013
This is not normally my thing

This is not normally my thing

I’ve been down of late. Not for so very long, but pretty far down. Today I had an idea to do a Small Nice Thing for a person, to purchase for someone a very nice little trinket to which he’d never have treated himself. I found a Small Nice Shop specializing in this Thing, and stopped by after work. What an unexpected delight! The owner was sweet and cheerful and knowledgable and spent such a long time with each customer that it was well past closing when I departed, leaving another customer behind me. But instead of being irritated by the wait, I felt unhurried, at liberty to explore (it’s one of those shops). And when I left, I left as happy as I’ve been in many days. 

I don’t write poetry. I don’t really even like it. I mean, when it reaches me, I love it, but little of it does so. But as I left, the last two lines of the above popped into my head. By the time I got my car started, the first two joined them. I couldn’t tell you where the picture came from because I don’t draw. I don’t do any of this, but it was there, and it needed out. Be kind to it, internet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2014 8:27 am

    I absolutely love it! In fact, I’d hang it on my wall.

  2. May 29, 2014 7:13 am

    awesome….

Leave a Reply

